Skip to content

Clear Browsing History in the Google Chrome browser

The Chrome browser stores browsing history records and visited site information. The Clear browsing data feature makes it easy to remove browsing history.

Select the ‘Browsing History’ checkbox and time range from the drop-down to hit the Clear data command on the Clear browsing data window.

info icon
Note: If you’re signed in with your Google account in your browser on different devices, deleting the history from one device will remove it from other connected devices.

Clear Browsing History from Chrome on Android

You can easily delete your Chrome History on your Android phone or tablet by following these steps:

  1. Open Google Chrome on your Android phone.
  2. Tap on the More vertical 3dots icon menu at the top-right corner.
  3. Select the History menu from the list.
    History menu in Chrome for AndroidIt will display the browsing history page.
  4. Tap on the Clear browsing data... command.
    Clear browsing data option in History page in Chrome for AndroidIt will open the Clear browsing data page.
  5. Select the Time Range from the available drop-down list.
  6. Enable the checkbox for the Browsing history option only and hit on the Clear data command.
    Clear browsing history from Chrome for Android under Clear browsing dataIt will clear the browsing history for a selected date range.

It will also delete the history data in all the synced devices.

How to View and Clear Browsing History in Chrome on Android

Clear History from Chrome on iPhone

To clear your browsing history from the browser of your iPhone or iPad, follow the below steps:

  1. Launch the Chrome app on your iPhone and iPad device.
  2. Tap on More horizontal 3dots icon for options.
  3. Select the Clear browsing data option from the list.
    Clear browsing data option menu in iPhone device
  4. Select the Time range and enable the checkbox for Browsing History only.
  5. Tap on Clear Browsing Data and confirm deleting browser history.
    Remove Browsing History from Chrome iPhone using Clear Browsing DataIt will delete the browsing history from browser app.

It will clear the history data based on the selected time range.

Clear History from Chrome on your computer

The option to clear history is available on the Clear browsing data page, and it’s the same across different computer operating systems. You need to follow these simple steps:

  1. Open Chrome browser on your computer.
  2. Click the More vertical 3dots icon option in the top-right corner.
  3. From the options, hover on the History menu and select the History tab.
    It will open the browser history page.
  4. Select Clear Browsing Data from the left sidebar.
    Chrome History page and Options menu in the computer browser
  5. Enable the checkbox for only the Browsing History option.
  6. Select the Time range from the drop-down and hit the Clear data command button.
    Delete Browsing History from the Chrome computer using Clear browsing data tabIt will easily clear browsing history in the Chrome browser on your computer device.

As mentioned, if the browser is synced, it will also remove the history across connected devices.

Bottom Line

It is highly recommended to clear your history once in a while. It is much needed for the safeguarding of personal behavioral data.

There are also options to clear the cache and cookies data from the Clear browsing data window. Whether you choose to clear site data from Chrome is up to you.

Please share the article if you find it helpful:

Disclosure: This page may contain affiliate links, which means we may receive compensation for your purchases; of course at no extra cost to you (indeed, you may get special discounts).
Kushal Azza

Kushal Azza

Kushal Azza is a Google Certified Analytics & IT Professional, Digital Content Creator, and Go-To Digital Marketer with an Engineering Degree. He has over a decade of experience solving tech problems, troubleshooting, and innovating digital solutions. Follow him on Twitter and LinkedIn.

Leave a thought or feedback

Please leave a descriptive comment or feedback with your real name. Our human moderator vets every comment, and it may take 24 to 48 hours to get published or rejected.
Your email address will not be published, and we will never spam your inbox. Required fields are marked *