How to Stop Chrome Passwords Compromised Alert?

Learn how to stop the chrome compromised passwords alert message on the computer and mobile devices. The alert warning will display breached password in use.

A couple of years back, Google introduced password breach warning messages. At that point in time, it was bundled with the Password Checkup extension. However, later on, it got added to your Google account. For the unaware, this feature will warn you if your account credentials are at risk in a data breach. It will then list out all the accounts that are at risk and will give you the appropriate options: either to change the password or delete the associated account.

This is quite a useful security mechanism incorporated by Google because manually doing the same not only calls for technical expertise but would also require too much effort to execute. So if it is such a valuable asset to the end-user, then why would they wish to stop Chrome’s breached password pop-up messages?

Security Checkup for compromised passwords in chrome

Well, the thing with these notifications is that they have become more intrusive and distractive than what would have been along the expected lines. Furthermore, in my case, I am getting these data breach warnings on my dummy Google account that I had created just for testing purposes. None of the accounts associated with that breach is of any security concern from my end.

Furthermore, some users have even taken action in this regard by changing all their passwords or have altogether deleted them, but they are still being bugged with that pop-up warning.

With that said, there does exist a method to stop these breached passwords from pop-up messages in Chrome. And in this guide, we will make you aware of just that, both on your PC as well as your smartphone.

Stop Chrome Passwords Breached on Computer

Initially, the only way of disabling this warning message was through Chrome’s experimental flag known as Password Leak Detection. However, that remained only through the testing phase and was then removed.

After that, it made its way over to the Sync and Google Services section, however, it was removed even from there as well. At the time of writing, this option is currently settled under the Privacy and Security section.

Here are the steps to stop chrome password compromised on PC:

  1. Launch the Chrome browser on your machine.
  2. Click on the vertical 3dots icon situated at the top right and select Settings menu.
    Google Chrome Settings options
  3. Switch to the Privacy and Security tab, and click on Security.
  4. Disable the Warn you if passwords are exposed in a data breach toggle to stop the alert.
    Warn if your password is exposed to data breach in chrome computer

While it’s good to see that Google has given an option to disable this functionality, but the lack of stability in settling for its final location might prove to be confusing for the end-user.

Stop Chrome Compromised Password on Android

The option to turn off the password breach notifications is buried deep inside Chrome’s Android build, and requires a little bit of digging. Well, we have done the same so that you don’t have to.

Here are the required steps to disable this pop-up warning on your smartphone:

  1. Launch the Chrome browser on your Android.
  2. Tap on vertical 3dots icon situated at the top right and select Settings.
    Settings in Google Chrome for Android
  3. Open Privacy and Security settings and head over to Safe Browsing.
  4. Tap on the situated next to Standard Protection.
  5. Turn off the Warn you if passwords are exposed in a data breach option.
    Warn if your password is exposed to data breach in chrome android

Similar to its Windows counterpart, earlier you could access this option via the chrome flag. But then this feature quietly moved over to the Standard Protection section. This might again arise some confusion to the end-users as to the actual location of this feature.

Bottom Line: Chrome Passwords Compromised

So with this, we conclude the guide on how to stop the Chrome breached passwords pop up on your computer as well as on Android devices. This is an option to manually check the password breach in chrome for iOS and iPadOS under the Password settings page, however, it won’t alert or bug you as it does in android or computer.

While it is indeed a useful security addition to our Google Account, but at the same time, it might not check-mark the requirements for a few users.

As mentioned before, I have created a second Google account just for my blogging-related task and most of the saved passwords are of those accounts that aren’t of much security concern for me. And it turns out I wasn’t the only one.

Related: How to View or Delete Chrome Passwords in Android?

One user has also echoed this exact thought process (although on a much larger scale!) on Google Support Forums and over 600 people have already upvoted his query. So there are quite a few users on the same boat and for them, they could now safely dock their ship as the query has finally been answered.

Lastly, here are the recommended web browsers for your computer and mobile phone that you should give a try.

WindowsMacOSiOSAndroidLinux
Chrome WindowsChrome MacChrome iOSChrome AndroidFirefox Linux
Firefox WindowsSafari MacSafari iOSEdge AndroidChrome Linux
Edge WindowsFirefox MacEdge iOSSamsung InternetEdge Linux

If you've any thoughts on How to Stop Chrome Passwords Compromised Alert?, then feel free to drop in below comment box. If you find this article helpful, please consider sharing it with your network.

Also, please subscribe to our BrowserHow YouTube channel for helpful videos tutorials.

Disclosure: This page may contain affiliate links, which means we may receive compensation for your purchases using our links; of course at no extra cost to you (indeed, you may get special discounts). This will support our effort to create more useful content, and keep it open and free forever.
Share

1 Response

  1. cnd says:

    This option does not do what you think – it stops checking for new breaches to warn you about.
    if you already get the warning, turning this off does not stop it showing up.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *