Skip to content

Clear Search History from Chrome browser on iPhone & iPad

Are you looking to clear the search terms history from Chrome browser app? Learn how to delete your search history records from your browser.

Chrome browser remembers and stores the browsing history. It also keeps the search term history, which is suggested later based on the search terms.

However, we can clear the search term history from the browser. We must tap and hold the search term for the delete option to remove the term.

info icon
Pro Tip: Consider using the incognito mode in the Chrome app to avoid storing the search term history.

In this guide, we have shared the steps to clear the search term history from the Google Chrome app.

On this page, you can find and jump to:

Clear the Web Search History

The browser remembers and saves that query when we make an online search. That way, it can help you find the same results again with search suggestions.

However, if you no longer need the search to be remembered or suggested, you can delete it from the browser. Here are the steps on how to clear your search history:

  1. Launch the Chrome app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Open a new tab page and start to search for something.
  3. Tap and hold the term, and swipe left to see a red Delete button.
  4. Hit on the Delete command button to delete the search term.
    Delete Search Term from Chrome iPhoneIt will delete the search term from the browser’s record.

The deleted search terms will not appear when you use the search bar again.

info icon
Note: We cannot view the list of past search terms. We need to remove them as they appear in the suggestion bar manually.

The search terms are synced with the Google account. Hence, we can visit the My Activity page and delete the search term history from the Google data.

Google - My Activity page

There are a few other deleting options that you can explore within the My Activity page of your Google account.

Bottom Line

The Chrome browser suggests the search terms that you’ve used in the past to make the internet search effective. However, you must delete the search term if you no longer needed manually.

If you do not want to save and sync the search activity, you can turn off the Web & App Activity option with the Google account settings page. It will no longer hold the search terms or suggest the phrases you’ve used in the past.

Alternatively, you can clear the browsing history from the Chrome browser, which will help remove the site suggestions.

Please share the article if you find it helpful:

Disclosure: This page may contain affiliate links, which means we may receive compensation for your purchases; of course at no extra cost to you (indeed, you may get special discounts).
Kushal Azza

Kushal Azza

Kushal Azza is a Google Certified IT Professional, Digital Content Creator, and Go-To Digital Marketer with Engineering Degree. He has over a decade of experience solving tech problems, troubleshooting, and innovating digital solutions. Follow him on Twitter and LinkedIn.

Leave a thought or feedback

Please leave a descriptive comment or feedback with your real name. Our human moderator vets every comment, and it may take 24 to 48 hours to get published or rejected.

Your email address will not be published, and we will never spam your inbox. Required fields are marked *