10 Responses

  1. Emily says:

    How to enable it again once it has been disabled?

    • Editor says:

      If you are no longer getting the Profile Picker on the Chrome Startup then you can enable it from the Manage Profile Settings.

      1. Launch the Chrome Browser.
      2. Click the profile icon to open the Profiles.
      3. Click on the Gear icon and it will display the same Profile picker screen.
      4. Now enable the checkbox that says Show on Startup from right bottom.
      Manage Profile Settings under Chrome Profile icon
      It will bring back the Chrome Profile window on startup.

  2. Emily says:

    I wish there WAS a checkbox to uncheck at start up, but I don’t have one. They must have gotten rid of this feature. Very disappointing.

    • Editor says:

      Can you please share what version of Chrome browser [chrome://version/] you’re currently running on?

  3. Rod Baldwin says:

    the show on startup checkbox – no longer appears Version 95.0.4638.69 (Official Build) (64-bit)

    • Editor says:

      Hi Rod, we just checked on our browser with the same version; it is still available within the Manage Profiles window.

  4. Alex says:

    Hi Thank you for the article. I would like to permanently disable feature of creating new profiles in chrome. We use Chrome in school and I monitor students use, I have blocked incognito window, and blocked ability to delete history. But now with new profile feature student can create a new profile, browse some nonsense and delete the profile leaving no traces of their search. Is there solution to this?

    • Editor says:

      Hi Alex, unfortunately, we cannot disable the profiles feature. It is built-in with Chrome and does not have the option to stop or hide permanently.

  5. Clare says:

    hi there,
    when I created a google chrome profile I didn’t know it would wipe all my bookmarks and saved windows on the tool bar. I’ve turned on sync but still nothing. Is there anyway to go back to the old google chrome without the profiles?? Please help!!

    • Editor says:

      Hi Clare, you can downgrade the chrome browser to a version prior to the Profiles feature, however, it’s not recommended to do so. Can you check if there are any other profiles that have your bookmarks saved?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *