Skip to content

How to Clean Google Chrome Critical Error Message Scam?

Google Chrome displays a critical error message that suggests that your device is hacked and you need to call specific numbers. These messages are a scam set up to take personal details. You should try clearing browser history and caches, resetting the default browser settings, restarting the internet connection, deleting the bookmarks, etc.

The Google Chrome Critical Error is a big scam running through the years, and it has had a significant outbreak in recent months. Most of these scam messages claim that your browser has been compromised and ask to call on the (FAKE!!) helpline number.

If you want to be safe, then DO NOT call these numbers. If you mistakenly called them, then DO NOT share your personal or financial information. They may sound genuine while speaking, but it’s a trap.

I have encountered the Google Chrome Critical Error several times on my browser, but fake helpline numbers never fooled me. However, one of my friends fell into this trap and got fooled by them.

Google Chrome Critical Error Scam Message

If you’ve ever encountered a Google Chrome Critical Error message or still get these errors, we are here to help. Here are the steps you need to take to wipe the Chrome Critical Error scam out completely.

Restart and Disconnect the internet

This is the first and most crucial step everyone should take to stop the Google Chrome critical error. Restarting your computer or laptop will kill any active connection between the spammer and your machine.

Here are the steps on how you can get your work done:

  1. Click on the X to close the Chrome browser.
  2. Click on the Wi-Fi and toggle the button to turn it OFF.
  3. Restart your Computer system.

Post restart, keep your internet disconnected until you verify that the injected spam code is completely removed. Network disconnection also helps safeguard your Google Passwords and auto-fills.

Note: If the Chrome browser is not responding, consider killing its processes from Task Manager (on Windows) or Force quit (on Mac).

Delete Bookmarks

If you’ve mistakenly clicked on any link or script that led to Google Chrome Critical Error, then the script is still stored in the browser. The possible location can be bookmarked. Hence, make sure to delete all the bookmarks on your chrome browser.

Follow these steps to delete the bookmarks:

  1. Go to chrome://bookmarks/ to open the Bookmarks manager page.
  2. Hit on More vertical 3dots icon on each bookmark page or folder.
  3. Select the Delete command button from the list of options.
    Delete Chrome Bookmarks

Make sure to delete all the bookmarks that you’ve on the browser. There is a chance that the script may have altered your existing bookmark and caused the Google Chrome critical error scam.

Delete Browsing History and Cache/Cookies

It would be best to consider clearing the browser history leading to the spamming script. Just in case you visit the same page and, unfortunately, get hijacked again.

Along with History, consider clearing the Cache and Cookies data as well. Just to clear all the traces of the spamming script.

Here are the steps to clear cache and cookies on Chrome:

  1. Go to chrome://history/clearBrowserData in the URL.
  2. Select the time range from the drop-down.
    I’d suggest selecting ‘All Time’ for better results.
  3. Enable the Checkbox against Browsing History, Cookies and other Site data, and Cached images and files.
    Clear Browsing Data in Google Chrome
  4. Hit the Clear data button.

All the browsing data will be wiped out along with the injected script. This may also remove the details of the logins that you might have saved for some sites.

Reset Browser Settings

Lastly, you should reset your browser settings. Resetting browser settings will clear any links and homepage alterations in the Chrome browser that may have caused the Google Chrome critical error. Most of the browsing script manipulates the homepage URL and settings around it. Once you reset the browser settings, Chrome will be as clean as a new installation.

Follow these steps to reset your browser settings:

  1. Go to chrome://settings/reset to clean up Chrome.
  2. Hit on the Restore settings to their original defaults.
  3. Hit the Reset settings command button in the popup box.
    Google Chrome Rest Settings

Your browser settings will be restored to default, and all the other data like bookmarks, History, and cookies will already be cleared. Hence, you will now have a fresh Google chrome installation without spam messages.

Also, it’s recommended to update the Chrome browser regularly for safety and security.

Bottom Line: Clean Google Chrome

Identifying and wiping out the Google Chrome critical error spam is essential because it may harm your system. One should also not fall prey to those fake helpline numbers as they are fake.

I made all my friends and family members aware of the Google Chrome critical error because it’s spam/scam to loot our money in the name of technical support. It has helped all my friends ever since and saved them from this spam.

If you follow the steps one by one, I believe it will wipe out any issue and malware injected into the chrome browser.

However, if you still encounter annoying critical error messages on the browser, please drop them in the comment box. I will try my best possible to clean up the fake error.

F.A.Q: Chrome Critical Error

We have listed some of the frequently asked questions related to Google Chrome critical error message scam:

How do I get rid of the critical error in Google Chrome?

You can try clearing the browsing history and Caches, resetting the default settings, deleting bookmarks, etc. to eliminate the critical error messages appearing in Google Chrome.

How to clean the Google Chrome critical error messages?

Start restarting your internet connection; then, you can try clearing the caches, deleting the bookmarks, resetting the default settings, etc., to clean the Google Chrome critical error messages.

Will cleaning Google Chrome critical messages delete all my data on Chrome?

Cleaning the Google error messages won’t delete your files, although resetting the browser data might delete the saved passwords. Perhaps, you can sign in and sync the passwords.

Lastly, here are the recommended web browsers for computer and mobile phone that you should give a try.

Windows MacOS iOS Android Linux
Chrome Windows Chrome Mac Chrome iOS Chrome Android Firefox Linux
Firefox Windows Safari Mac Safari iOS Edge Android Chrome Linux
Edge Windows Firefox Mac Edge iOS Samsung Internet Edge Linux

If you've any thoughts on How to Clean Google Chrome Critical Error Message Scam?, then feel free to drop in below comment box.

Also, please subscribe to our @DigitalTechStudio YouTube channel for helpful videos tutorials.

Disclosure: This page may contain affiliate links, which means we may receive compensation for your purchases using our links; of course at no extra cost to you (indeed, you may get special discounts).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *